Styx is an American rock band from Chicago that formed in 1972. The band is known for their hit songs “Lady” and “Come Sail Away” from the late 1970s and early 1980s.

The band’s original lineup consisted of Dennis DeYoung (vocals, keyboards), John Curulewski (guitar, vocals), Chuck Panozzo (bass), John Panozzo (drums), and James “J.Y.” Young (guitar, vocals). They released their debut album, “Styx”, in 1972, which was followed by several more albums throughout the 1970s.

In 1975, the band released their breakthrough album “Equinox”, which featured the hit single “Lorelei”. This album established the band as a major player in the rock music scene and brought them mainstream success.

In 1977, the band released “The Grand Illusion”, which featured the hit single “Come Sail Away”. The album was a huge success and cemented the band’s place in rock music history. The band continued to release successful albums throughout the 1970s and 1980s, including “Pieces of Eight” (1978) and “Cornerstone” (1979).

In the early 1980s, the band went through several lineup changes and internal conflicts, which led to the departure of Dennis DeYoung in 1999. Despite this, the band has continued to tour and release new music, with a rotating cast of members.

Today, the band is still active and continues to tour and release new music, with the current lineup consisting of Tommy Shaw (vocals, guitar), James “J.Y.” Young (vocals, guitar), Lawrence Gowan (vocals, keyboards), Ricky Phillips (bass), and Todd Sucherman (drums). They have released several albums in the 21st century, including “Cyclorama” (2003) and “The Mission” (2017).

Styx is one of the most popular and influential bands in the history of rock music. Their hit songs and albums have stood the test of time and continue to be beloved by fans all over the world.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :